First surgery...nervous

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First surgery...nervous

My scoliosis was detected in high school by the family/town (very small town) doctor who kept telling my family that it was nothing to worry about. Now at age 29, I have a 75 degree curve at the top and bottom of my spine and have found that I am starting to shrink, so it looks as though my scoliosis is progressing.

I am scheduled to have surgery in January and am so nervous! I've never had any type of surgerical procedure and don't know what to expect. I will have both anterior and posterior incisions.

I am fortunate in that I don't experience much back pain or discomfort yet (some stiffness in the mornings) and do not yet have children. I'd like to have the surgery before having children and hope that I will still be able to be an active mom after all is said and done.

My mother-in-law is a nurse and suggested that I join a gym to get into shape prior to surgery. She says it's good to go into major surgery in good shape to help with the recovery. Has anyone here tried yoga while recovering??? If so, did it work?

Well, I just wanted to say HI to everyone and I hope to be able to get some good information and share stories with people here.

Hi...

Well, you sure chose a doozie for a first surgery! ;-)

I think it's a great idea to get in as good as shape as possible before your surgery. The people I know who have had the quickest recoveries seem to be those who are in the best shape.

You'll need to speak to your surgeon about what you can do during recovery, but I'm guessing that they're going to say no yoga for at least a year.

I know how scary the surgery is. I'd like to encourage you to talk to at least 2-3 referrals from your doctor (people who had very similar procedures). They're the ones who can really tell you what to expect.