Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6 months later now what!

Hey i need some clarity,

Ok about 6 months ago i had my surgery, I have mostly good days when i over exert myself i spend about a week of discomfort paying for it. Today my doctor looked at my ex-rays and said that i am doing great and that i don't have to set any more appts. He wants me to go the gym and excercise. Today was my first day back at work. And already my boss was telling me to lift boxes. she said that she had serious back surgery before and u are suppose to build up your strength. I told her i wasn't lifting anything above 5lbs. ( that is what i have been doing for the past 6 months i have not even bent over to touch my toes yet. I know that nobody is a doctor on here but what has been ur experience after 6 months? i thought the healing process takes 3 years!

Hi,
    No way would I lift boxes..stick to your guns, get a letter from your doctor...
    CONNIE

Surgery June 28th 2004
    fused T4 -L3
    Hip graft
    Grown 1 1/2 inches
    25/o upper T 15/o
    53/o T 15/o
    37/o L 6/o
    Dr. Micheal Nuewirth
    New York City

August 6, 2004
    Pulmonary Embolism
    complication from surgery

January 2007 currently
    increasing pain at the T4/5
    point irratation heardwear

Comment

Going back to work after 6 mos! You are doing GREAT! I am 1 1/2 years after surgery, still have a rough day now and then when I overdo things. The only person who really understands that I can't over do things is my hubby- he saw what I went through. Others see me up, around, looking normal- yes I am way better than pre-surgery, but will always have to take care of my back. I tend to do better on days when I get on the treadmill like I'm supposed to and do my daily exercises. (today- I was too busy--- yea right--- I needed to even more!) Hang in there.

Mary Gail
      fused T11-L5 with rods
      April 8,2003
      Dr. Crandall, Phoenix - GREATEST doctor ever!

Comment