What's the big deal with 50 degrees?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's the big deal with 50 degrees?

This may sound like a silly question, but why do most docs protocol call for a curve to be 50 degrees to be surgically significant? I understand that lung/heart impairment would likely play a part in this decision, but have also read that these functions aren't usually impaired until around 90+ degrees. I hear of people with 50+ degree curves having surgery when they have no pain. I also see people with smaller curves that have a lot of pain that the docs won't touch. It doesn't make sense to me. I have a 46 degree curve that my doctor will correct when my pain pattern gets more predictable. So confused. Is there something physiologically that happens to the nerves and spinal chord when the curve reaches 50 degrees? Thanks for any responses as I am still learning about this disease.
    Be happy!
    We don't know what tomorrow brings,
    but we are alive today!

I *think* the issue is that, at about 50 degrees gravity starts working on the curve. So, a curve under that may stay stable, while one larger then that is likely to progress.

Comment

Linda or others will know this better but I'll tell you what I think I know about this.

Originally posted by rohrer01 View Post