Should I do this?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I do this?

Just when I've made my decision to have surgery with Dr. Lonner in New York, I'm having second thoughts.

I have absolutely no pain and never have had any. I've raised two sons without incident. I was told that my breathing capacity is reduced by 50 percent. However, I can do 1/2 hour on the treadmill easily and hardly notice any problem in going through my day (I am a teacher.)

However, my thoracic curve of 90 degrees is not pretty and I'm concerned that it will progress, that I could develop problems and it will be too late to have the surgery.

But then again it could not.

My posture is excellent and people tell me that they hardly notice it. I don't know if I would do this if it was only for cosmetic reasons.

I've lived 57 years this way with no problems, so I guess I'm different that many of the people here.
    How do I know that I wouldn't be able to live to a ripe old age this way? How do I know that I won't have chronic pain afterward? I've read here about people's relatives who've had long, full lives with severe scoliosis.

Of course, there are no answers to these questions. But if anyone has any strong feelings about this, I could use some encouragement! Thanks for allowing me to vent some of my concerns, Joy

Hi Joy
    i am also debating whether to have surgery or not (as we spoke of on the phone)..but my curves are much less than yours...i also do not have lung or heart problems as my thoracic is 40 degrees & doesnt bother me...except for pain..which is mostly handled by botox shots every 3 months or so...i had to cancel my appt for yesterday (wednesday) in NYC with pain doctor due to the snow..rescheduled for monday, feb 15...for my shots...
    i will do surgery...if i do it..because of the pain..& the way it has restricted my life & ability to function at all!!